Posted by: howvoicebegan | 17/07/2012

To Succeed

Each morning I open my planner to see what is on my schedule and to draw up my daily to-do list. I read the quote, from Tony Dorsett, at the bottom of the page for today. It said, “To succeed… You need to find something to hold onto, something to motivate you, something to inspire you.”

Success has been on my mind lately. I’ve been home from South Africa for 6 weeks and I have been using this time to get geared up for a commitment to success over the course of my master’s program and other aspects of life. And since Tony so easily spelled out the steps to success, all I have to do is fill in the blanks. And that’s what I did, given that the answer was clear to me.

Something to hold onto. Well, that’s an easy one: God. To succeed, I can’t hold onto myself. When I give everything to God, who is the source of all that I have and am, I give him the opportunity to succeed through me. “Humble yourselves before the Lord, and he will lift you up” (James 4:10, NIV).

Something to motivate you.  Daily I am motivated by the Holy Spirit who lives inside me and witnesses to me. It’s the Holy Spirit who calls to mind key verses or nudges at insight and direction. Without the Spirit’s direction, I can’t find the path I need to take to succeed.

Something to inspire you. By now the pattern is clear: it’s Jesus, the third person in the triune God. Right now I am reading through the Gospels, and every day I have new inspiration from Christ’s actions and words while he was on this earth. If you’re looking for inspiration for how to treat others or for some introspection, a read through the Gospels will have you inspired to live a new life and have a new love for God and others.

It shouldn’t come as any surprise that God is the key ingredient to any success we can have. He is the answer to success- not us.

Responses

  1. “To succeed, I can’t hold onto myself.”
    For me, success comes when I completely rely on God, not on myself.


Leave a Reply

Categories

