Posted by: howvoicebegan | 31/03/2012

Today is Today

I knew coming into 2012 that it would be a great year. I have had so much to look forward to that part of me wants to rush through the year and experience it all right now.

I still thank God daily for my work here at Charity and Faith. Every day I feel so blessed to have the support to stay here and serve. And, because I feel so fulfilled in what I do, everything is so much more alive to me- the days are fresher, the birds are singing, and there’s nothing that can stop me from soaking in every moment of my time in South Africa.

As much as I am excited to start on my Master’s degree this fall in Seattle, and for all of my various plans throughout the year, the reality is that I don’t want the days to rush by. I want to enjoy every minute in Mamelodi, because I know I will miss it when I leave. The future is already mine, so I have no need to chase after it, longing for the minutes to come closer.

When I was in Senegal, I told Amanda that I really felt like my trip had been exactly the number of days it had been, rather than the typical “vacation” feel that it went to fast. She asked, “So, is that a good thing?” being unsure if I meant that the days were dragging by, or if it was something I truly enjoyed. And indeed, it was the latter; I was enjoying each day as it is, taking in the moments, knowing that they would soon pass and exist only in my memory for the rest of my life.

When I arrived back at the orphanage, the children were so happy to see me again. “I thought you were going to be gone for two months!” said Mahlatsi.
“You said you were going to be gone for only two minutes!” said Kelebogile. Not quite being a master of English yet, I could tell she meant days rather than minutes. Whether I have two real minutes, or two minutes in Kelebogile’s vocabulary, I’ll gladly take what I have- after all, I’ll never get it back.

I have much to look forward to in 2012. But if it was in my power, I wouldn’t make the days rush by to get to future events I am excited about. Instead, perhaps I would switch to Kelebogile’s terminology, turning two days into two minutes, and therefore have many more days to enjoy of this great year.

Rush past this moment? I'd rather not.

Leave a Reply

Categories

