Posted by: howvoicebegan | 21/04/2011

One Year Of: Service

Without my supporters, I wouldn’t have been able to have…

One Year Of:

Compassion. Abandoned by his father. Neglected by her mother. Abused. Rejected by family members. These are hurting and deeply wounded human beings I work with each day. While I have anger toward the unloving attitude of the adults in their lives, my anger is subdued by focusing on compassion and showing them that there is such thing as a caring adult. My life isn’t about what others have done; it’s about what I do for God and others.

Forgiveness. Some of the children have told me stories about people with whom they are in conflict and that person has threatened to go to a sangoma, or witch doctor, and seek revenge with a curse on them. I have had the opportunity to share with them that vengeance is the Lord’s and not ours, and that the high path, the path of Christ, is to forgive. An innocent man found the heart to forgive as He was being murdered, how much more so can we forgive for mean words and stolen cell phones!

Growth. In my prayers, I keep the children’s relationship with Christ as an important plea on my heart. When I asked one child in October if he wanted to be a Christian, he said, “No.” After the New Year he told me that at the change of the year he asked God to change his life.  Now he inquisitively and by his own desires listens to and reads God’s word.

Prayer. God is faithful when I am faithful in prayer. I smile when I look back at one of my first answered prayers for my service in South Africa. My passport arrived with my South African volunteer visa—14 hours before take-off! That was just the start of a year of God stretching my faith to the last minute and the final prayer. Now you can check out the still-growing list of answered prayers.

Gratitude. Not a day has gone by that I have not woken up in humble appreciation of my work, Mamelodi, God’s provision, the children’s lives, the serving I get to do, my family, the nourishing food he has placed on this earth, the beauty of South Africa, and to watch God work in front of my own eyes. I thought I understood appreciation before I came here, but now I understand how thankful I am in my relationship as creation to Creator.

Dependence. Now my year closes with dependence on God. “Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding;  in all your ways acknowledge him and he will make your paths straight” (Proverbs 3:5-6). This is where God has led me to today.

Now it’s your turn. I want to continue to serve Mamelodi beyond my Missions Internship. I am trusting in the Lord rather than relying on myself to provide financially, spiritually, emotionally, and with all support levels. I want to stay here, not for my sake, but for His sake, and to glorify the only one who deserves glory. In my trust and acknowledgement of him, I am assured that he will make my next paths straight.

This is what I build my campaign on.

The work the Lord has done in me and through me is immeasurable and will have a lasting impact on Bophelong Children’s Home and others I have built relationships with while I am here. My “One Year Of” list is only the beginning. And, through you, I can expand my list into “Two Years Of.”

Help me show compassion. Help the children grow in Christ. Let’s build our faith that God provides and makes a straight path for His will. Let’s express deep gratitude for what he has created, what he has done, and what he will continue to do. Finally, let’s depend on him as our resource for all things, for, when we acknowledge him and trust in him, our paths will be straightened and the road ahead made clear.

Serving God and others, one friend at a time.

Let’s continue to work in Mamelodi. If you would like to make a donation today to help me continually impact Mamelodi, click here for my donation page. If you are interested in being involved in monthly support or would like to make a tax-deductible contribution, please contact me so I can give further information.

Thank you for your tremendous support in prayers and giving over the past year.

A generous man will himself be blessed. (Proverbs 22:9)

Leave a Reply

Categories

