Posted by: howvoicebegan | 03/03/2011

Jesus Wept

In the trip I took with some members from my home church, Northshore Christian Church, to Israel during February, many stories and places in the Bible became real life, engrained in my mind as well as any other memory. But something else became real, too: the emotions of Jesus.

When He saw the city, He wept over it.

We entered into Jerusalem, climbing up the hill, the city suddenly unfolding in front of our eyes. Moments before entering the city, I read the Scripture, “As he approached Jerusalem and saw the city, he wept over it and said, “If you, even you, had only known on this day what would bring you peace—but now it is hidden from your eyes” (Luke 19:41-42). Jesus wept over the city–the people– He loved so much and came to renew relationship with. But because they were blinded, because they refused to listen, destruction awaited them. This is what broke His heart.

Climbing the hill to see the city Jerusalem before me, I felt crushed in spirit as well, for this is a missionary’s heart. I so long to see people know Christ, and it breaks my heart to see people separated from Him. As I took in the city, my mind wandered back to my home life in South Africa. When I drive through Mamelodi, I look out over the stretches of the informal settlements, thousands of homes and people, as far as where the informal homes become

Stretching to the horizon

indistinguishable from the horizon. My heart aches to see people in deep need. The physical needs are obvious and overwhelming, but more desperate is the need for Christ; for His love, redemption, hope, and power to do all things through Him. Vast stretches of cities invoke a longing in my heart that we all will be reconciled with God. So tragically, many will choose not to be.

Jesus’ weeping at the sight of Jerusalem and at a friend’s grave (John 11:35) marks His personal and emotional experience with humankind and His care for all individuals. I felt I get a glimpse into His heart when I am in Mamelodi and when I could see His own city which so deeply moved Him in His longing to be in relationship with them. I know that he feels the ache I feel.

I know He must weep over Mamelodi, too.

Leave a Reply

Categories

