Posted by: howvoicebegan | 21/06/2010

Here am I. Send Me!

Today at church during communion, the time of reflection was based on a song about Isaiah 6:8, which says, “Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, ‘Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?’ And I said, ‘Here am I. Send me!'” This verse has been the focus and theme of many missions all across the globe and over the generations. It’s quite the perfect example of the type of attitude we should have toward His calling, regardless of the calling’s distance.

But, in the past few months, I have had a broader view of this calling in myself. Rather than focusing just on verse 8, I feel my resonance with Isaiah starts in verse 5, “…I am a man of unclean lips, and I live among a people of unclean lips….” The humility expressed by Isaiah once he saw the revelation of God on his throne is the same humility I have felt. I feel God’s tremendous power over my life, yet I stop and question, “Why are you calling me to this? Who am I that you would say, ‘Go’?”

It’s a lesson we hear all the way from Sunday School to youth group to adult services: “God can use anyone; look what he did with the murderer Moses, persecutor Saul, lowly Gideon, nobodies Mary and Joseph, runaway Jonah, denying Peter…” We all get the point. The purpose is to let us know that, if we think we’re nothing, maybe we should re-examine ourselves through God’s lenses. The lessons are designed to grow our confidence in God, realize our value to Him, and encourage us when we’re certain to find our picture the next one stamped with “FAIL” going viral on the internet.
These lessons are nice pick-me-ups, frequently hitting superficially. That is, until you really realize how much it actually does apply to you.

I know that I can do all things through Christ (Philippians 4:13), so I do not doubt my abilities to accomplish what has been set out in front of me. Rather, I am humbled by comparing the magnificent works of God’s hands, and yet he chooses to use infinitesimal beings to carry out these grand works. Now I finally am that Gideon, Moses, or Jonah. We are small, short-lived beings with an eternal impact.

So when He asks, “Who will go for us?” I respond, “Here am I!”

Leave a Reply

Categories

