Posted by: howvoicebegan | 15/06/2010

Aren’t You Afraid?

Many people have asked me over the last several weeks  one of the following questions: “Aren’t you afraid of going?” “Are you nervous?” “Are you anxious?” “Don’t you think you’ll get really homesick?”

My answer is always no. While they look at me in disbelief that I’m not afraid, nervous, or anxious, I look at them in disbelief that they even questioned me.
David rhetorically asks in Psalm27:1b, “The Lord is the Stronghold of my life– of whom shall I be afraid?” If my heart surrenders to his will, and he is my light, what is there to be afraid of? On the other hand, of course I would be afraid if none of this was done through his guidance!

When people ask me those questions, I’m flooded with verses of comfort- cast your cares upon him (1 Peter 5:7), I will never leave you nor forsake you(Deuteronomy 31:6), be strong and courageous (Joshua 1:9), worrying cannot add anything to your life (Matthew 6:25-34), I have plans to give you hope and a future (Jeremiah 29:11), trust in the Lord rather than your own understanding (Proverbs 3:5-6). Need I list more?

Why would I be afraid of experiencing this?

The idea of being afraid or nervous really baffles me. Because I know that God promises a plan, hope and future, and not harm, then I can trust his moves without fear of what will happen to me if I follow. If I feared, it would mean that I think I know what’s better for me than he does, and I certainly hope I never adopt that way of thinking!

So, I am leaving without fear, but with anticipation. I am impatient to see how I will grow, what I will learn, who I will meet, and why South Africa of all places.

Afraid? No. Excited? Oh yes.

Leave a Reply

Categories

