Posted by: howvoicebegan | 10/06/2010

Open Letter of Thanks

Some are called to go. Some are called to be support at home. There are people who give before you ask. There are people who pray before they know the request. Others speak fresh wisdom, some have an abundance of encouragement.
I’ve had all these kinds of people with spiritual gifts of giving, intercession, encouragement, and wisdom in my life, helping me along my journey. Without their help, I could not fulfill my calling or carry out in my gifts.

This is what 1 Corinthians 12:14-19 says: “Now the body is not made up of one part but of many. If the foot should say, ‘Because I am not a hand, I do not belong to the body,’ it would not for that reason cease to be part of the body. And if the ear should say, ‘Because I am not an eye, I do not belong to the body,’ it would not for that reason cease to be part of the body. If the whole body were an eye, where would the sense of hearing be? If the whole body were an ear, where would the sense of smell be? But in fact God has arranged the parts in the body, every one of them, just as he wanted them to be.”

I have always looked at this passage one-dimensionally as a superficial understanding that we are all unique and have our own gifts and talents, and nothing could be carried out otherwise. However, in preparation for embarking on my stay in South Africa, this passage has come to shed light on another aspect: how each of our gifts play off of each other’s, so that we not only use our gifts but bless others by helping them use their gifts.

We truly do exist as a body. I feel like I simply could not operate without the other members! So, thank you for following the Holy Spirits’ prompting and for your obedience. When we all work together in one body, God is glorified (John 17:22) and His works are magnified (John 17:23).

Do not neglect your gifts–use them to bless others in the body of Christ so that their gifts are used as well.

Responses

  1. Tonight at our home group you were prayed for by the group. My barber Han, has you on her written list, two of your uncles and an aunt are praying for you, Marty is also. My friends in DC are. Between our church and friends scattered around the country, I believe you have a host of people praying for your efforts.


Leave a Reply

Categories

