Posted by: howvoicebegan | 04/06/2010

God is Faithful!

I just love it when I feel like God is looking down on this earth and remembers me specifically. Today felt like one of those days.

Yes, both myself and my car are in this picture. Find us.

This week started off discouraging and a little anxiety-ridden. I know that I must be patient and that all things will pan out, but it’s difficult when it’s not on my time! This week has been a roller coaster with selling my car– no shows, people who do show and want a significant reduction in price, leads with nothing happening. I have never sold a car before, and even though I was surprised that I had so many responses in the first few days of advertising it, I was starting to feel discouraged: will my car ever sell? Am I asking for too much? What’s with people on Craigslist being so darn flaky?
This morning I had another prospective buyer, and I was a bit cautious because I figured he would either not show up or want me to reduce my price by a large chunk. He inspected the car, drove it around the block, and said, “We’ll take it.” It was such a solid answer, which was something I haven’t heard all week! My first thought was how exciting it would be to be able to cross off my first answered prayer on my prayer list.

I went to work feeling so glad to add another countless time that God directly gave me one of the desires of my heart (Psalm 37:4). It brought me back to early morning A capella chants in South Africa, singing praises purely because He is worthy to be praised.

I had also been counting the days of my visa application, wondering where it was in the process, and going back and forth between feeling like I will get my visa for South Africa and feeling like I won’t impress them enough. It’s that typical feeling when you apply for college or a job; that feeling that, “Oh of course I got it!” alternating with, “Ugh, who am I that could ever make me impressive?”

Then, when I got home from work, I got a phone call from a number I recognized; I knew it was important to me for some reason. Then I remembered it’s the South African Embassy! Calmly, I answered. I was a little fearful because I had said to call if they had questions, so I thought that perhaps my application wasn’t complete. And- it wasn’t. But to simplify the conversation, my visa has gone through successfully and I can send the remaining documentation later. Then, I got an email from my friend Nancy with a reference to Isaiah 46:11: “From the east I summon a bird of prey; from a far-off land, a man to fulfill my purpose. What I have said, that will I bring about; what I have planned, that will I do.” And He is doing just that, indeed. He has plans and He will fulfill them in his own timing, not mine. All my fretting was in vain!

Leave a Reply

Categories

